This site could use cookies. Please, click here to look at our cookie policy.
  • You are in DISCOVER THE AREA / ART AND CULTURE / chapels, oratories, tabernacles
  • Oratory of San Rocco

    (chapels, oratories, tabernacles a Lizzano In Belvedere)
    Oratory of San Rocco

    Contact: IAT Lizzano in Belvedere 0534/51052 - IAT Vidiciatico 0534/53159
    Via Panoramica 40049 VIDICIATICO BO
    Tel. 0534/53151 Fax 0534/51052 - 0534/53159 ,  
    Getting here: In the village centre.
    Opening days: Upon request or during special events and celebrations.

    The oratory was built in 1631 to house the papier-mâché statues of the Saints Rocco and Sebastiano; they were deemed responsible for the miraculous end of the 1630 plague which hit 23,000 people in Bologna and 18,000 in the province. The whole area was harshly hit by the plague and legend wants it that terminally ill people buried themselves alive in the lower part of the village, in order not to spread the disease. Once the statues were brought to Vidiciatico, the plague suddenly stopped; every year, on the first day of August, this miraculous event is celebrated here.
    The outside of the oratory features a beautiful portico supported by local sandstone columns, with the original wooden truss; the bell tower has a bell gable, a rare example in the area. The oratory has a rectangular plan and one aisle; it houses a statue of the Madonna of the rosary and two ancient paintings, one depicting the pope and a monk, and the other depicting the Madonna of Loreto with the Saints Pietro, Giovanni, Rocco an Sebastiano. Recently a fresco was discovered; it depicts a figure which might be San Giacomo Maggiore as a pilgrim, holding a book and a stick; the fresco has late-Gothic features but is thought to date back to when the building was erected (1631).

  • Other info:

  • Information by Redazione dell'Appennino Bolognese
    Last update: 28/01/15     (NewsID: 25015)
more suggestions